There are five main pillars of Islam. They are:

  1. Profession of faith (Shahada)
  2. Prayer (Salat)
  3. Fasting (Sawm)
  4. Pilgrimage (Hajj)
  5. Almsgiving (Zakat)**
Children During Ramadan

Fasting (Saum) is one of the five pillars of Islam. 'Roja' is a Persian word and it's Arabic word is Saum (Plural-Siam). Which means 'Abstain'or 'retrain'. Fasting is the name of abstaining from all kinds of food, drinking anything, sins, sexual intercourse, etc. in the hope of Allah's satisfaction from dawn to sunset.

Those on whom fasting is obligatory:

  • He is a Muslim
  • He is able to fast
  • He is settled (not travelling)
  • He is accountable (mukallaf)
  • There are no impediments to fasting



Allah(The Creator) says in Qur'an about fasting, "O you who have believed, decreed upon you is fasting as it was decreed upon those before you that you may become righteous" - (Surah Bakarah, ayat 183). The Qur'an contains verses on Ramadan and fasting in several places. There is a detailed description of it in the authentic hadith. Even there are so many verses in the bible about fasting. Jesus(May peace be upon him) fasted for forty days. Click here to view more verses. There are mainly five types of fasting. Among them, the obligatory fast is the fast of the month of Ramadan.

Arabic 12 months are:

Arabic 12 Months

According to the Islamic calendar, the month of Ramadan is the 9th month. One of the most beloved months of Muslims is the month of "Ramadan". It is also the best month of the Arabic Hijri year. This Ramadan comes with the message of mercy, blessings and salvation for the believers. This Ramadan comes to be filled with
mercy. To make a man innocent. In Ramadan, there are many offers for the servants from Allah Ta'ala. After one month of fasting, one of the Eid festivals comes for Muslim with joy. The Eid is named "Eid al-Fitr" also called the "Festival of Breaking the Fast".

Please consider subscribing to our weekly newsletter. THANKS :)